Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

European History: Primary Sources

Primary Sources - for evidence

When historians talk about evidence, they often mean primary sources. Primary sources (propaganda posters, speeches, charters, documents created during the time period being studied) can offer rich and unique insights into your topic. Thousands of primary documents have been digitized and can be found online on university, government and museum websites. 

NOTE: The easiest way to include primary documents is to identify them from your background reading - make notes on dates of treaties and speeches you read about.  Record the date and author so you can search for the original document (perhaps in translation) later.

World War I Collections

World War II Collections

Holocaust Websites

Zionism Collections

Imperialism

Decolonization

Search Across Library Databases

The Meadows School Search

Advanced Search

 

 

*Off campus access requires "Meadows Discovery Search" username and password found in our Google document, "2021-22 Off Campus Database Passwords."

Databases

Primary Sources on the Web

Many universities have assembled portals of digitized primary documents for students to access online. 

Britain (United Kingdom) Collections

Cold War Collections

Guide template courtesy of

Qi Huang, E-Resources Librarian at The Harker School