Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

10th Grade English Research Paper: Databases

Search Across Most Library Databases

The Meadows School Search

Advanced Search

 

 

*Off campus access requires "Meadows Discovery Search" username and password found in our Google document, "2021-22 Off Campus Database Passwords."

Passwords for When you are at Home (Off Campus)

Periodicals: eMagazines

Flipster from EBSCO provides us with periodicals like The Writer, Writer's Digest, and Poets & Writers

Search Hathi Trust

The HathiTrust Digital Library is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. It brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them to be accessed today, and in future generations. Make sure to limit your search to "Full view only."

Searching Databases

Searching the Library Databases:

Keywords can be nouns, phrases, or names of people, places, and events.

  • Parentheses 
    • Helps visualize the order of the search (kind of like order of operations in algebra)
  • Quotation marks
    • Force the search engine to search for keywords / ideas in that exact order
  • OR
    • Link synonyms or like concepts together; expand search
  • AND
    • Links key / principal ideas together; narrows search
  • NOT‚Äč
    • Excludes words from a search; narrows search

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image from Library of Prince George Community College http://pgcc.libguides.com/c.php?g=60038&p=385676 

Databases: Articles

Databases from our public library (must have the barcode and pin in the Google Document from the link to the left titled "List of Databases for Home.") include: 

Pro/Con Databases